TE MOTUNUI EPA BOOK LAUNCH – L to R Gavin Faull, Danny Hall, Tim Hall, Kura Denness, Dene Ainsworth (kneeling), Moana Denness, Sue Priest, Carol Faull, Garry Nicholas, Peter Priest. Photo courtesy of Bridget Williams Books and Tania Niwa Photographer

Our Governance

Ngāti Rāhiri Lands Trust

The Trust is responsible for the hapu Māori Reservations. These reservations are,
Ngatirahiri Blocks 4 and 4Y,6C,6G,7C, 1A, and 3E.


Danny Hall (Interim Chair)

Wikitoria Michalanney (Treasurer/Secretary)

Kura Denness
Morgan Watson
Murray Bidois (Advisory Trustee)

Maikara Tapuke
Peter Priest
Tahupotiki Rawiri
Keith Holswhich

Ngāti Rāhiri o Te Atiawa (Taranaki) Soc Inc Management Committee

The Management Committee is the representative body and authoritative  voice of
Ngāti Rāhiri o Te Atiawa. The committee’s responsibilities include the promotion and management of the social, economic, and cultural welfare of our hapū. The committee is also responsible for our hapū register.

Mission Statement

To preserve and enhance the identity, integrity, and general well-being of Ngāti Rāhiri Hapu.

Committee Members

Peter Priest (Chair) peter@ngatirahiri.co.nz

Iris -Moana Ward

Sue Priest (Treasurer) treasurer@ngatirahiri.co.nz

Gavin Faull

Jan Spanhake

Patsy Crow (Secretary) secretary@ngatirahiri.co.nz

In response to the proposed law changes to the Incorporated Societies Act, our Constitution is currently under review. 

Motunui Epa Guardian Trust

Five carved panels, collectively known as the Motunui Epa, were discovered in a swamp near Motunui in 1972 and then illegally exported out of Aotearoa New Zealand.  In 2014 the New Zealand government secured their return to Aotearoa New Zealand, and it was subsequently agreed that they should be returned to their rightful home in Taranaki to be housed in the Puke Ariki Museum in New Plymouth.

Included in the relocation process was an agreement to establish a trust to be known as The Motunui Epa Guardians Trust to act as guardians for the care, conservation, and custody of the Motunui Epa in accordance with the Trust Deed that was created.

Six Trustees were designated within the trust deed to be appointed as follows

  • Te Kotahitanga o Te Atiawa Trust – one [1] representative
  • Ngāti Rāhiri – two [2] representatives
  • New Plymouth District Council – one [1] representative
  • Crown – two [2] representatives.

Ngāti Rāhiri Appointees

Maikara Tapuke
Moana Denness